My Creative Space

After participating at an inspirational and intoxicating Shibori workshop on Sunday that was held at the Powers House Museum and run by Pepa Martin and Karen Davis from Shibori , I’m working on a new type of project again! Experimenting and making new products.

these indigo pillow cases I have dyed at shibory workshop

Last night I dyed silk/cotton fabric, calico and lace to make large scarfs and pillow cases. I will try to finish all off today as soon as fabric is dry. Canโ€™t wait to show here the finished product!

BlueBerry Ash textilesBlueBerry Ash textilesBlueBerry Ash textiles

I am absolutely amazed with the whole process of fabric dyeing: techniques itself easy and quick, colours are bright, not much colour mixing involved, however there is plenty of room for colour experimentation. And there is no right or wrong in fabric dyeing (well itโ€™s my point of view), not like in screen printing where things have to line up and you have to be accurate and precise. With fabric dyeing you are free to make mistakes!

Visit other creative spaces here!

6 thoughts on “My Creative Space

Leave a Reply

